Light in the Darkness

When I’m writing a novel, I first develop my characters. I get to know them intimately, from personality type to physical appearance, before I begin writing their story. Next I lay out a fairly detailed outline of the plot. I think of it as a “road map.” For instance, if my characters begin the story in Los Angeles (metaphorically) and end in New York., my job as their author is to put them on the “highway” and head them through the harsh landscape along the way until they arrive at their destination. Sounds easy, but the funny thing about characters is that they often take on lives of their own. You might call it free will.

Even so, as their author, I know the story. I know what happens in the first chapter, the second, and so on. I know the ending before my characters get there. They may veer off the main road here and there (which they do more often than not), but I nudge them back to the path they need to be on for the story to come to a perfect and powerful conclusion.

Today it came to me that God is the Author of my story. He knows the beginning and the end. He knows the first and last chapter and everything between. He hasn’t been taken by surprise by my diagnosis, neither will he be surprised by the test results or by the outcome of my treatment. Not only is he the Author, his mercies are from everlasting to everlasting, his understanding without measure. He is faithful, loving, and full of compassion. Even in the darkest night of my soul I can trust him with my story.

A few minutes ago, I again picked up the little book, Letters from God for Women, and came across the following entry about God’s mercy.
MY LIGHT IN YOUR DARKNESS
The Light of My countenance can fill you.
My Own,
Sometimes I see that anxieties, doubts, and discouragement cast shadows of darkness across your path. These are not from Me, beloved, but from the enemy who would have you believe his darkness is greater than My light. I have a glorious light for you, My child — keep your eyes on Me!

When you encounter darkness, My precious daughter, hold on to the truth! All that I am is yours. If you but ask, My tender mercies and My compassion will flood your soul. Let Me turn your discouragement to joy, your hopelessness to hope, and your darkness to light.
With mercy,
The Father of Lights

About diane@dianenoble.com

God's child who takes joy in His patience and love; St. Francis follower who desires to live simply; author in awe of God's incredible grace; fledgling graphite and colored pencil artist trying to improve, one drawing at a time.
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Breast Cancer Survivors, Faith, Life, and Writing, People with Parkinson's. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

